How to Register a Car in Colorado US – How Long It Takes?
Posted by Yampa Valley Insurance Agency on
In the United States, vehicle registration is legally required for every car, truck, bike, trailer, and all other vehicles. It’s upon the owner to must register their vehicle before driving them on the streets in the U.S. Keeping a motor vehicle that is registered is a law in each state. Some states demand registration renewal every year, while other states only require initial registration of the vehicle or mandate renewal after every 2 or 3 years.
Although most states have their requirements and procedures for registrations, the basic steps of the process are fairly similar across the U.S. For new purchases or leases from different commercial dealers; the dealer often takes care of the registration task for you. In this blog post, you will find everything you need to know while taking care of registration on your own.
How to register a car in the U.S.?
Motor owners in the United States are required to register their vehicles with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The requirements for registering a vehicle varies from state to state. You are required to provide all the necessary documents for identification and residency documents that may include a U.S. driver’s license (valid), home country or international driver’s license, and Social Security card. You will also be asked to give proof of your car’s insurance.
When you purchase a car in the U.S., the sales tax (if required by state) is not included in the original selling price of your vehicle. You will pay the sales tax while registering your vehicle. If you are leasing a vehicle, this sales tax will be a part of the monthly payment.
Registering at a Dealership
If you purchase an auto vehicle through a dealership, the registration process of the vehicle will be completed for you right on the location. The dealer will collect all your documents, registration fees and license plate, and your sales tax. You will then be given the license plates of your car/vehicle at the dealership. This will save you from standing in long lines at the DMV.
Registering at the DMV
If you buy your car from any private party or dealer, you will have to go to your local DMV to register your car. When you register your vehicle at the DMV, keep in mind to bring the following documents with you:
Title for your vehicle (provided by the seller)
Bill of Sale, or letter from the dealer/seller including the vehicle type (make, year, model), selling price and the original vehicle identification number (VIN)
Proof of your auto insurance
S. driver’s license, or the specific state requirements for those without a U.S. driver’s license
Whether you register at the dealership or the DMV, you will receive a temporary registration sticker that shows your vehicle has valid registration. An official registration sticker will be in your mailbox, typically within 30 days.
How to register a car in Colorado?
Whether you’re a Colorado-born or recently moved there from a different state, you must register all of your motor vehicles with the government. Once you’re a legal resident of the state, you have 90 days to register your vehicle. Gather all the necessary documents in advance so you can submit your application on time. Depending on your convenience, you can fill out the application through a third-party company for a small fee or at the DMV.
Read up on requirements
You can become a citizen of Colorado in 1 of 3 ways. You either run a business in the Colorado state, find employment in Colorado, or reside in there for 90 consecutive days.
You can immediately apply for registration if you are already a Colorado resident.
Transfer your license if it was issued in some other state
Once you are a resident of Colorado, you have about 30 days to transfer your driving license over to Colorado. Bring your current license, social security card, proof of residence in the United States, and proof of residency in Colorado to your local DMV to get your license transferred.
Apply for a vehicle title
Before you register your vehicle in Colorado, you must title your auto vehicle in Colorado or transfer its title from the original state to Colorado. Visit your local DMV to title your vehicle in Colorado or transfer it. You will also need to bring a legal state-issued I.D. and other necessary vehicle ownership documents to fill out the application.
You will need to pay the fee for getting your car titled.
Most car titles will take up to 4 to 6 weeks to process.
Getting necessary documents together
The following documents will be required to register your car in Colorado.
Valid proof insurance
Insurance coverage for your car is a must to register a car in Colorado. You must provide at least one form of this proof before your filed application can be processed. Proof of insurance may include:
An insurance card
A copy of your insurance policy
A letter from your insurance provider.
Electronic proof of insurance verified by your insurance provider.
The car insurance is deemed very important in every state of the U.S; therefore, getting your car insured is the first thing one must do after bringing it home. We, at Yampa Valley Insurance, provide our car owners with all kinds of vehicle insurance packages suited to their needs.
Get proof of vehicle emissions
Depending on what car you own, you will need to pass a gas or diesel vehicle emission test. To carry these tests, you need to bring your vehicle to a local Air Care Colorado station for inspection.
Vehicle emissions inspection costs around $20 in Colorado.
Not every county in the state requires Proof of Vehicle Emissions. You must check with your local DMV to find out if you are required to meet that requirement.
Gather two forms of state-issued I.D.
The following are considered valid forms of identification in Colorado state.
Colorado driver’s license
S. birth certificate
Employee identification card
Student ID card
Medicare or Medicaid card
Veteran ID card
Recent utility bill, pay stub, or bank statement
Certificate of Degree of Alaskan or Indian Native Blood
Copy of your vehicle title
A photocopy of a Colorado vehicle title is also needed to register your car. If you don’t have one yet, begin the process ASAP. You can only wonder how many days it may take (as it usually takes up to 6 weeks).
Submit the affidavit of non-use vehicle (if applicable)
If you want to register your vehicle but do not plan on driving it, you will need to attach an Affidavit Non-Use of Vehicle alongside your registration form. Print and fill out this form so you can bring it to the DMV.